Not-quite-sure Navy Spot Dress

This is another version of the lovely Simplicity 2550, (see also my little black dress).  I’m not sure this was quite so successful, for some reason.

The fabric is a navy polka dot synthetic something-or-other I picked up from St Albans market for a few pounds a metre.  I liked the idea of a spotty version of this and intended it to be for a friend’s February wedding, but in the end it just didn’t quite do it for me so I wore something else instead.

I had a few problems with the bodice fitting this time, probably because the fabric was so fluid and drapey compared to the crisp black linen mix I used last time.

Despite all this moaning, its still a nice dress sitting in my wardrobe awaiting its first outing! I would definately wear it with a jacket or cardigan over the top, and just need to pluck up courage to wear it ‘au naturale’!!

Simplicity 2550

Leave a comment

Filed under Dressmaking

Leave a Reply

