Stray Sock Hippo

Stray Sock Sewing: Making One-of-a-Kind Creatures from SocksStray Sock Sewing has to be of the most pointless but pleasing books on my shelves.  There’s an awful lot of padding,  and not much on the instructional front, but its one of those books that is just full of fun and makes you smile.

Sewing with socks is surprisingly satisfying, and very easy.  I rather underestimated how much an adult sock would stretch when filled with stuffing, and next time I try anything from the book I’ll make sure I use small children’s socks instead.

But isn’t this hippo super-cute? Not suitable for small children due to the various buttons and beads, but ideal for big kids like me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sewing: Gifts & Accessories

Leave a Reply

