The Cottage Garden Skirt

McCall’s M5591
 

One of my first dressmaking projects using McCall’s M5591


This is a great pattern for a beginner – quick and easy to make, and a nice casual everyday skirt. I’m a bit disappointed with the final product as the fabric doesn’t have as much drape as I hoped so doesn’t necessarily flatter my large hips.

The pockets add bulk at the hip where I prefer skirts to skim to flatter the figure – next time I’ll make it without. Also waistband is too large so it sits slightly oddly anyway which doesn’t help.

As the fabric had a printed border I decided against the contrast band, but otherwise followed the pattern.

This lovely border cotton lawn was from UK E-bay shop favouritefabrics, but I fear it will have long gone

Leave a comment

Filed under Dressmaking

Leave a Reply

