English Rose Garden Party Dress

100_1579_large

This is a great pattern – Butterick 5455.

B5455

I chose a floral print cotton/linen mix from the wonderful Croft Mill Fabrics and wear this dress all the time, dressing it up or down very easily.
This was the first time I had tried using piping so it took me a while to get even, but I’m glad I perservered, I think it really makes the dress.

I wanted the shoulder section thinner than the pattern suggested as I think its more flattering, so just ‘blagged it’ by trimming down the pattern pieces a bit – seems to have worked OK!

I would definately sew this again, though as a fairly recognisable pattern I would have to use totally different fabric.

A great pattern, easy to make and a good introduction to piping for a beginner!

Leave a comment

Filed under Dressmaking

Leave a Reply

